Meet Our Committee Chairs

Committees meet regularly throughout the semester to improve UMDS. Each semester, the Executive Board selects new Committee Chairs to lead these Committees.

Nicole Berglund ’23

Chair of the Novice Mentoring Committee (Fall 2020)

Nicole is a sophomore double majoring in BMB and Microbiology from West Bridgewater, MA. She loves debate because of all the amazing people it has allowed her to meet, and because it gives her the opportunity to talk about things she is passionate about. Nicole wanted to join the Novice Mentor Committee to help welcome new members to the team and help them love debate as much as she does. She hopes to create a space where novices feel welcome to learn, grow, and be themselves.


shayan raza ’23

Chair of the Alumni Relations Committee (Fall 2020)

Shayan hails from Needham, MA and is a sophomore with intended majors in legal studies and economics and a minor in philosophy. After competing in speech events in high school, he has loved the transition to parliamentary debate, learning new skills and building strong relationships along the way. Shayan is excited to serve as chair of the Alumni Relations Committee and help develop UMDS infrastructure!


Erin Crowell ’21

Chair of the Apparel Committee (Fall 2020)

Bio coming soon!